Day 356 – 10/27/11 – Céilidh

As I mentioned yesterday, the Sou’Wester excursion involved more than just strolling around wearing funny seaman hats.  In each of the pubs we visited we were met by an Irish folk band.  Joined by our kilted bagpipe playing guide and his fiddle, they played and sang a variety of Irish songs.  The overall event is what is known as a Ceilidh (pronounced Kay-lee), a traditional Gaelic social gathering.

Our kilted guide trades his bagpipes for a fiddle.

Our kilted guide trades his bagpipes for a fiddle.

These images are a touch grainier than I’d like.  It was very, very dimly lit in this bar (the Lower Deck in Halifax, amazing place!), and I had to crank the ISO way up past the reasonable performance of my camera.  Even so, I rather like the effect, it gives the images a nice feel.

The four musicians who entertained us throughout the Ceilidh.

The four musicians who entertained us throughout the Ceilidh.

The cruise overall was incredibly enjoyable, and the Ceilidh was inarguably our favorite part.  That makes it an appropriate place to end the series of cruise images.  Tomorrow I’ll move on to new subject matter to finish of the remaining nine days of the Photos to 40 project.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 356 – 10/27/11 – Céilidh

  1. kathy says:

    SOOOOCCCCCCCIIIIIIIIIIIAAAAAAAAAABBBBBBBBLLLLLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. dpixel365 says:

    That first photo was beautifully captured.

  3. Jim Reed says:

    Thanks dpixel! To be honest I think that’s one of my favorite, if not my favorite, image from the entire cruise 🙂

  4. livvy30 says:

    I’ve always known there’s loads of us over in eastern Canada, but now I think I need to go and see it for myself! Love the first shot too.

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

