Day 249 – 07/12/11 – Joy in Motion

I set out this evening to shoot the Daily Assignment, which was an image dominated by blue.  That – luckily – didn’t work out.

I say luckily, as I ended up with the girls at the play set, which reminded me of another image I’ve been meaning to make… a panning shot of them swinging.  If I haven’t mentioned lately that I love panning shots, I do.  A lot.  Tonight’s session reminded me just how much.

Here’s the image I set out to make, the big one on her swing.

The big one enjoys her swinging.

The big one enjoys her swinging.

This was an interesting panning shot to work with.  I had the edge of the swing set between me and the girls, so I had a very small arc of their swing in which to catch them.  I also had to catch them before they hit the top of their arc and started back, or else I’d be going a different direction than they were.  Needless to say I took quite a few images to get what I was after.  That’s actually a good thing, as it let me get several other images I hadn’t originally intended to make.

For instance, while I was focusing on the big one, unbeknownst to me the little one decided to join the fun.  Here they are “double dating” as they call it when they get their swings in sync.

The girls in sync on their swings.

The girls in sync on their swings.

Finally, it was difficult syncing my panning motion up with the girls’ heads as they came out from behind the pillars of the swing set itself.  The result was a number of images where the point of focus was not where I wanted it.  The majority of those I deleted.  This one I liked however.   When the wife saw it she immediately liked it as well.  I can’t say exactly why, but something about the way everything but her feet is in motion just makes this image stick out.

A panning shot turned abstract.

A panning shot turned abstract.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 249 – 07/12/11 – Joy in Motion

  1. I love your motion shots. You always have such cool ideas. I think the middle photo is my favorite.

  2. Nice shots Jim. Really like the motion and excitement captured in the first shot.

  3. Anna says:

    These are great shots! I’ve recently discovered panning and it’s many joys. So fun!

  4. Susan says:

    Now these were so awesome!! Amost made me dizzy!

    Hope your day is blessed!

  5. Angela says:

    Great images! The motion in the images are great & the smile on their faces 🙂

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

