Day 248 – 07/11/11 – ShroomScape

Today’s Daily Assignment is to “Change your angle today. Make a photo from ground level.”  I may have taken it to a bit of an extreme.

This mushroom is approximately an inch tall.  You can imagine the contortions I went through to make this image considering I’m looking at it pretty much at eye level.  Needless to say the neighbors are once again wondering what the crazy guy with the camera was doing this time.

A tiny mushroom looms over a tinier landscape.

A tiny mushroom looms over a tinier landscape.

The image as presented is pretty much as shot, which is the wife’s favorite version, which is why it’s the image of the day.  Though I’m happy with the above, I experimented with the processing a bit.  I like these two versions as well, although on the black and white version the little bug crawling down the grass stalk gets lost.

Which version do you prefer?

The shroom scape processed in antique sepia tone.

The shroom scape processed in antique sepia tone.

Shroom scape processed in black and white.

The shroom scape processed in black and white.

 

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 248 – 07/11/11 – ShroomScape

  1. I prefer the sepia tone over the others.
    I like the POV and bokeh in these shots.

  2. John says:

    I’m with your wife, liking the color version best (followed by the sepia.) I think I like the color version more, because of the contrast between the green grass and brown and white of the mushroom, whereas the contrast isn’t really noticeable in the monotones of the sepia.

    And, not to worry about the neighbors … after they’ve watched you get down on the ground with your camera enough times, they pretty much stop paying attention. At least, that’s what happened with my neighbors. 🙂

  3. The color version is my favorite too! I love the angle of these. Great shot.

  4. schleefy says:

    I like the first one as well….cool photo…..perfect angle…..

  5. I prefer the color one due to the contrasting colors…but the sepia one is cool too. Great composition!

  6. tifloyd says:

    I think the one with color is better, it has more contrast.

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

