Day 247 – 07/10/11 – Dew Web

When I returned from my run this morning I noticed a fine, dew covered spider web in the grass.  Not one to pass up an opportunity, I grabbed the camera and made a few images.

Dew drops in the early morning grass.

Dew drops in the early morning grass.

I discovered two things after making these images.

First, in a few of the images there was a tiny little lady bug.  I wish I’d noticed it when shooting, I’d have recomposed and gotten a really interesting shot.

Second, the webs that are holding this dew aren’t actually spider webs, they’re a web like growth that is part of a lawn disease called Dollar Spot.  So, that’s not particularly good.  But what’s bad news for the lawn is still good news for the macro imagery!

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 247 – 07/10/11 – Dew Web

  1. Nicely done Jim. I took a similar shot for my 365 project – mine was much of a macro shot.
    Here is the link.

  2. schleefy says:

    That is an amazing shot……I love it…

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

