Day 242 – 07/05/11 – Brandywine Falls

Yesterday was such a nice day that we took a hike down around the Brandywine Falls.  I’ve been wanting to get there for quite some time, and just haven’t had the chance.  Many of the trails around the falls were shut down for some construction, but we were still able to get a good view of the falls themselves.

I ended up with several images that I really like, and had a difficult time choosing amongst them.  I turned to my panel of judges, and unfortunately the four of us can’t agree on one!  So, as I do occasionally, I’m posting them all.

The nominal image of the day is the wife’s choice.

The big one prefers this image, as it shows “the bigness of the water”.

Water cascades down the Brandywine falls.

Water cascades down the Brandywine falls.

The little one prefers the entirety of the gorge into which Brandywine Falls empties.

The valley into which Brandywine Falls empties.

The valley into which Brandywine Falls empties.

My preference is this shot which more clearly shows the ledge and loose rocks over which the falls flow.

So who’s right?  Which of the images is your favorite?

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Day 242 – 07/05/11 – Brandywine Falls

  1. Jim, these photos are fantastic! Wow! I hope you plan to frame these!

  2. Lovely shots Jim. I like the silky look of the water falls – second shot is my fav.

  3. While each person picked a great image, I am siding with the little one! The composition, the silky water, the greens…yea, go little one!

  4. I’m going to have to agree with both the kiddos. I like the first two the best, but it was a tough call. These are fantastic!

  5. lisahudson says:

    Gorgeous waterfall shots, Jim. The texture of the water is just beautiful.

  6. Ken says:

    Great shots, I like the last one the best!

  7. deb says:

    They’re all such beautiful shots, it was really hard to choose. After a lot of thought I’m going with the last one, but that was a tough decision. I would love to hike that trail to get a view like this.

  8. I don’t know…I’m partial to the big one’s fave. But, all are fantastic shots. My wife and I were in South Dakota last year and it took us rank amateurs a solid hour to figure out how to get the shutter speed slow enough to capture Roughneck Falls just right. Good job.

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Ken! I’d actually hoped to get out earlier in the day before it got as light as it was so I’d have been able to get an even slower shutter speed than I did. Getting the girls all around and ready to go took longer than I’d have liked though 🙂

  9. Mindy says:

    Gorgeous photos Jim. I love waterfalls, they are just so gorgeous and so serene.

  10. Kirstin says:

    Beautiful! What a toughy on which is best. I think they each show a different “side” of the waterfall

  11. schleefy says:

    I would go for the little ones….I don’t know why…but anyway…I love waterfalls…..
    Gerat caputers

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

