Day 231 – 06/24/11 – Hosta

The rains have returned in force the last few days.  So much so that I’m not sure if I should be continuing my Summer Fun theme, or starting up a Spring Floods theme.

Luckily, the rains seem to have made the deer a bit more sluggish, giving us an opportunity to see that rarest of flowers, the hosta.  While the hosta might not be that rare in most places, around here the blooms only survive for a few hours before Bambi rushes from the woods like an addict after his next fix and munches them down.

So thanks to the rains, I was able to make an image of this most illusive and short lived of blooms.  Complete, again thanks to the rains, with water drops.

A rare, short lived hosta bloom.

A rare, short lived hosta bloom.

I was able to make a few images before the rain chased me back inside.  I like this one nearly as much as the image of the day, but not for the same reasons.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Day 231 – 06/24/11 – Hosta

  1. I like the rainy day feel in this shot Jim.

  2. schleefy says:

    Great compositon and perfect DOF. I like the raindrops in the second one.

  3. Ali says:

    wonderful flower shots..

  4. These are just beautiful Jim!

  5. Man, really like the droplets in these. Great job on the DoF Jim. 😀

  6. Becky Sue says:

    Gorgeous! You really brought out the best in what (I think) are not the most show stopping of blossoms. We had a cold, rainy week too but now things are looking up! Hope they are there as well.

  7. Love this!!! The water drops are amazing. I can never seem to get them just right.

  8. Pingback: Day 260 – 07/23/11 – The Culprit | Photos To 40

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

