Day 227 – 06/20/11 – Leaves & Light

The weather didn’t cooperate with me this evening.  I had another summer fun image in mind, and couldn’t get outside due to the rain and clouds. Then I was struck with an idea to try an experimental shot which took advantage of the wind.  I set up the camera… and guess what happened to the wind?  That’s right, it’s a good thing we’re not sailing anywhere, as the entire yard was suddenly becalmed.

So I decided to play around with black and white a bit.  I need to get some serious practice with black and white effects, as I’m still relying entirely on presets within Lightroom.  I actually made this image just to practice processing.  I have another non-black and white, non-tree image that I had intended to use as the image of the day.  But something about this image just hits me.  To be honest I’m not sure if I like it or not.  My opinion swings back and forth the longer I look at it.  I figured what the heck, I’ll post it and see what you guys think.

An abstract black and white leaf treatment.

An abstract black and white leaf treatment.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 227 – 06/20/11 – Leaves & Light

  1. I like it, but I think I’m longing for the colors of the leaves!

  2. That’s about the colour it’s been here ALL year!

  3. schleefy says:

    I like that b/w shot. The lights are perfect. Does leaves have colors? Hm, maybe I am living in the wrong place…

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

