Day 221 – 06/14/11 – Raspberry

The wife was kind enough to pick up some raspberries (and tomorrow’s fruit as well!) today at the store, so I had a subject waiting for me this evening.

This was a fun one to work with, as well as to eat.  I ended up with several images that I really like, but the image of the day was chosen by the wife, who left me no say in the matter.

A raspberry closeup.

A raspberry closeup.

While I personally like the image of the day, my favorite by far, and what would have been my choice for image of the day, is this composition.

Raspberry patch.

Raspberry patch.

The wife said she wasn’t surprised I liked this composition, considering I’ve already done it once.  Guess it’s a good thing she picked the image of the day after all!

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Day 221 – 06/14/11 – Raspberry

  1. bonniegunkel says:

    Gotta go with the wife on this one Jim. Both are great, but I like the POTD best 🙂

  2. Jim,
    Two dynamite shots! I love the water beads on the first one, and the focal point in the second is PERFECT. Makes me want to rush out and buy some raspberries (to eat, not to shoot).
    –John Robinson. My humorous photoblog: http://thedailygraff.com/

  3. Good one Jim.
    I prefer the first one. A shot really dominated by red – I think those water drops along with the texture makes this shot standout.

  4. Both are good shots Jim, but I prefer the second shot. 😀

  5. Dianne - life as i see it says:

    beautiful shots jim.. both of them.
    i have to say the focal point in the second one is beautiful ;o)

  6. I like this raspberry one better than the blueberry one, but they’re both fantastic of course… One more time! Product (produce?) photography!!!!! Please!

  7. Susan says:

    Awesome! and Yummy too…

  8. Barb says:

    Such beautiful, perfect raspberries! great shots!

  9. Eileen says:

    Both are beautiful, but I like your wife’s selection too. Yum, raspberries! So good, and so good for you. Beautiful photos.

  10. TheDayLeigh says:

    looks very yummy! You got great colors and light here!

  11. stunning shots! i love the blurry background! the type of photos i adore.
    thanks for sharing.
    have great day!
    betty

  12. …and my favourite photo is the second one.
    did you accomplish the blurry background of that one by photo-shop editing?
    thank you!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Betty, and thanks for stopping by! I actually did very little editing on the image. The blurry background was accomplished in camera by using a longer focal length (160mm) macro lens with a wide open aperture (f/3.2).

  13. Rachel Drake says:

    What a neat macro. Look luscious!

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

