Day 214 – 06/07/11 – Lake Erie Monster

Those who don’t live around here may not know, but Lake Erie has it’s own monster.  Bessie, as she’s known, has been sighted off and on for nearly two centuries.

Personally, I’ve never seen the serpent.  I have recently come across another Lake Erie Monster though, the Great Lakes Brewing Co’s tribute to Bessie.  This IPA just recently hit store shelves near me, and on the recommendation of a good friend I picked up a pack.  I’m not typically a big fan of pale ales, but all I can say is Yumm!

A sighting of the rare (and delicious) beast.

A sighting of the rare (and delicious) beast.

I shot this with a bit of a different lighting setup, looking for a high key effect.  I had to re-shoot three times before I got exactly the effect I was after.  I’m not even completely happy with this one due to the reflection of my lights in the bottle.  But considering that I was sampling the subject between shoots, and that this beast is over 9% alcohol by volume, there wasn’t going to be a fourth shoot! 🙂

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 214 – 06/07/11 – Lake Erie Monster

  1. Sure looks good! I wouldn’t worry too much about the light reflection, I do like how the glass is OOF, nice job Jim.

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks David! I haven’t done much experimentation with the high key shots. I like how the top of the glass actually disappears into the light.

  2. bonniegunkel says:

    I like how the top of the glass disappears in the light as well. Very nice shot. I laughed out loud when I read that you were taking drinks between shots. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Day 217 – 06/10/11 – Strawberry | Photos To 40

  4. schleefy says:

    Looks good. But 9% Alcohol…wow…..that is hard…..How many bottles have you killed? 😉

  5. Michael says:

    I LOVE great lakes brewery!

  6. I’ve never heard of this brewery, but mmm it looks delicious! I love the way the glass fades too!!!! 🙂

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

