Day 209 – 06/02/11 – Mail Side

Another image in the Inside theme today.  This one was actually predicted by David in the comments to yesterday’s image.  As I mentioned in my response, the mailbox is actually where I conceived of this entire theme.  While it’s the third image in the series, it’s the first I had planned.  I’ve actually completed the initial three I contemplated, now it’s on to experimenting and seeing what other places I can come up with to shoot from inside out.

But for now, here is life as viewed by the mailbox.

Life as viewed by the mailbox.

Life as viewed by the mailbox.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 209 – 06/02/11 – Mail Side

  1. Excellent shot Jim, really! How many attempts did you make to get the exposure right? Love the concept and execution. 😀

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks David! It actually didn’t take very many exposures at all on this one. I set it to partial metering aimed at the big one’s face, dialed in a plus 2/3 exposure compensation to keep the inside from being too terribly dark, and used the white letters as a reflector to pop a bit of light inside the mailbox. I expected to have far more trouble with it than I did!

  2. Nice work Jim.
    Love the feeling of “expectation” on your daughter’s face.

    Reminds me of a self-portrait mail box shot I did last year 😉

  3. bonniegunkel says:

    I think this is my favorite of your themes so far! This is wonderful!

  4. schleefy says:

    wow….my favorite so far…..good one

  5. Haha! These are great! I love the idea! So creative! I’ve seen a few from inside the fridge, but never anything else. You always have the best themes!

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

