Day 196 – 05/20/11 – Jumpie!

The little one is having a birthday party this weekend, and her choice for the party was to rent a jumpie and have all her friends over.  The inflatable fun house arrived today, and thankfully the seemingly ever present rain has decided to give us a break.

We’ve rented jumpies like this in the past, and we always get them for the entire weekend.  They’re a lot of fun when all the kids are over, but they are an absolute blast the night before when it’s just the four of us.

Here’s all my girls in mid flight.  I’d explain the expressions, but, well I’m not sure I can.  All I know is I asked them to jump and act crazy.  Actually, I’m not entirely sure it’s an act…

The girls in flight.

The girls in flight.

I realize there is a bit of motion blur, particularly on the wife.  You have no idea how difficult it was to even get the image this sharp.  You see, to avoid the netting I had to take the images from inside the jumpie.  So as the girls jumped, I ended up bouncing too!  Add to that a shutter speed of a 60th at best, and well, there you have it.  These were so much fun that I’m sure we’ll be trying again tomorrow though, hopefully during better light.  If I get really adventurous I may even try to add a flash into the mix.

Of course, that’s assuming I can get the wife out of the jumpie long enough to actually throw the party!  Last I saw her, she was still out there jumping away, giggling like a school girl.

The wife in flight.

The wife in flight.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 196 – 05/20/11 – Jumpie!

  1. Ohhhh what fun!!! Love the expressions, sounds like you have a great weekend ahead of you. Happy birthday little one, make sure your parents spoil you! 😛

  2. bonniegunkel says:

    These are awesome! So much fun!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Bonnie! They’re really a blast. I’ve been out today with them again and added the flash into the mix. A bit tricky bouncing around with a flash making the camera top heavy, but I like the results so far!

  3. Pingback: Day 197 and a Half | Photos To 40

  4. Looks like your family had a great time. That’s makes you happy, right ?
    Nice shots Jim.

  5. schleefy says:

    That looks like fun….My boys love these bouncing castle as well….
    Under your mentioned conditions you did an awesome job…..and the blur fits perfectly into the composition……

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

