Day 188 – 05/12/11 – Jump!

It’s raining again, so we’re restricted to an indoor image this evening.  To be honest I had an overwhelming urge to skip the project altogether tonight.  I need to find another series to pull myself out of this creative slump.

I decided to turn to the little ones for an image again, and asked them to do something fun, like jumping on the bed.  I used flash to stop the action, and was able to capture just the composition I was after.

Two little monkeys, jumping on the bed...

Two little monkeys, jumping on the bed...

I couldn’t quite get the lighting where I wanted it with this image, it’s harsher than I’d like.  That’s a problem I’ve had with other indoor flash shots as well, even when using a diffuser and/or bouncing the flash.  I’m going to have to experiment a bit more to fix that.

For those who caught the reference in the caption, don’t worry, no little monkeys fell off and bumped their head.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 188 – 05/12/11 – Jump!

  1. Love it Jim! What kind of diffuser are you using, the sto-fen? Have you tried a shoot-through umbrella? I love how high the little one has gotten, really nice job. 😀

    Sorry I’ve been “MIA”, I plan on catching up on all the blogs I follow this weekend…of course, time being nice to me that is!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks David! I have the sto-fen, and also a small flash mounted Opteka soft box, which is what I used for this shot. I think it’s just too small a diffusion modifier for a shot this wide. It works really well if in quite close to the subject. I definitely need to give the shoot through umbrella a shot and see if that fixes my problem.

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

