Day 171 – 04/25/11 – Shadow Play

I have a ton of ideas that I want to shoot, but unfortunately all of them require being outside.  Difficult to do at the moment as I’m neither a duck nor a fish.  I’m sure it will stop raining someday.  Right?

In the meantime I know there’s still a nearly infinite universe of things to shoot inside, but I’ve been shooting inside for nearly six months now and am starting to struggle with new ideas.  Enter my lovely wife, who had the idea to do something with dominoes.

The final image isn’t what either of us had in mind when we set out with the bag of little red toys.  We set up a few dominoes, started playing with the light a bit, and here’s the result.  Sunrise – and the resulting shadows – on a city of dominoes.

Sunrise on Domino Town

Sunrise on Domino Town

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 171 – 04/25/11 – Shadow Play

  1. bonniegunkel says:

    Very nice Jim! I really like the colors and the shadows!

  2. Nice work using hard light Jim, love the shadows against the blue. City of Dominoes, nicely played. 😀

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks David! I had a devil of a time finding a good light source to make such sharp shadows. The best source at the end of the day was the light on the back of my iPhone!

  3. mindymilburn says:

    LOVE this shot, I love the patterns created both in the domino’s and the shadows. Repetition is such a cool thing in a photo!

  4. schleefy says:

    A very creative idea. Great Photo.

  5. Duoae says:

    Awesome shot. Very nice indeed! 😀

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

