Day 166 – 04/20/11 – Focus

Those of you blessed with perfect vision are likely to recognize this image as that chart you may have had to look at once or twice in Elementary school.

Those of you who’ve been wearing corrective lenses since being pulled out of Mrs. Bennett’s third grade classroom because you couldn’t see the board, on the other hand, have a much more lasting and ongoing relationship with today’s subject.

I’ve been having a bit more difficulty reading my iPhone screen lately (it’s the screen size, I tell you).  Similarly I find myself squinting at my camera’s LCD more often than I’d like.  So this morning I went in to visit my old nemesis once again and get an updated prescription.

One, or Two.... One, or Two....

One, or Two.... One, or Two....

And for those of you lucky ones with perfect vision, today’s image isn’t actually out of focus.  That’s what it looks like for those of us with glasses.  Heck, who am I kidding, that’s what it looked like twenty years ago.  Today I can barely make out the “E” without my lenses!

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 166 – 04/20/11 – Focus

  1. bonniegunkel says:

    What a great photo Jim! I am blind as a bat without my contacts!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Bonnie! I had to give up on contacts years ago, too many looong days staring at computer screens caused them to dry to my eyeballs. I’ve been back to glasses ever since.

  2. Becky Sue says:

    Ditto, Bonnie. Plus I am left-eye dominant which is a huge curse for a photographer (and marksman which I am not).

  3. Ahhh! I hate the eye doctor too! I have some kind of weird vision issue, I can see everything but it takes me a long time to focus. Apparently my eyes are just tired all the time! Not fun for a college student… haha. Anyway, Creative shot! I love it! and of course, the DOF is spectacular! 🙂

  4. I like it! I am one of those oddities where my eyes actually got better! I had reading glasses at one point in my life but no longer need them (the doc did extra tests to confirm)…very strange.

    • Jim Reed says:

      Lucky! Mine have stopped getting worse for the time being, but they’re already bad enough that my wife can effectively ‘ground’ me just by hiding my glasses!

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

