Day 162 – 04/16/11 – Hyacinths

The rain broke briefly this afternoon, and I took the opportunity to get out and walk around with the wide angle again.  I didn’t go far as the clouds looked nasty – in fact it started raining again shortly after I finished up.

The result of my short walk was a few more shots from the flower bed.  I suppose it’s a bit odd to shoot standalone flowers with a wide angle lens, but it’s all in the name of experimentation and practice.  I have a very specific purpose – two specific shots in fact – in mind for this lens over the next few months.  I want to make sure I’m familiar with the lens and its quirks when the opportunity for those shots arises.

Hyacinths in bloom.

Hyacinths in bloom.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 162 – 04/16/11 – Hyacinths

  1. schleefy says:

    Very good. Maybe a macro would have been better but I really like the colors and the blur. Have processed the colors? cool…

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Shleefy! Definitely a subject better suited to a macro, I actually did that in today’s image. I didn’t process the colors much here, though I did use a polarizing filter on the lens which tends to pop the colors a bit.

  2. I dunno about the macro choice (and I do love macro’s), I think the Tokina was an excellent decision! I think perhaps the only thing I might have done differently was to compose the image a little higher knocking out some of the bark and include more of the trees/sky…but that’s me! 😛

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks David! I hear you on the composition, I would have preferred to do that as well. However it was incredibly muddy, I refuse to get out my improvised mud gear while the wife is around after last time, and I was as low as I could get and still see through the viewfinder! Perhaps a new 60D with the adjustable LCD is in order…. 😉

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

