Day 161 – 04/15/11 – Hamster Wheel

When I got home this evening the girls were outside happily playing with one of their favorite yard toys, an inflatable hamster wheel.  The theoretical use of this device is for the child to roll it around, perhaps sitting inside it occasionally.  I suppose a product manager somewhere has a mental image of angelic children docilely wheeling the thing around an idyllic yard, while grandparents look on in approval and sip lemonade.

In reality, of course, that happens for about 14 seconds before it turns into a massive game of Squish-Whomever-Is-Inside.  The thing rolls a foot or so, with some giggling kid laying inside, while every other kid in a two mile radius tries to jump on top of it.  To me it looks like a medieval torture session gone wrong, but the girls absolutely love it.

Luckily they took a break long enough for me to put the new wide angle to good use.

The girls in their hamster wheel

The girls in their hamster wheel

I promised them I’d use the shot with both of them, but to be honest I’m not sure this one isn’t my favorite image from the set.

The little one takes a break from rolling her wheel.

The little one takes a break from rolling her wheel.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Day 161 – 04/15/11 – Hamster Wheel

  1. bonniegunkel says:

    They are both adorable girls Jim!

  2. schleefy says:

    That are two cute young ladies after working out hard in the or on the hamster wheel. I haven’t seen something like this here in Germany. Our two boys have a trampoline in the garden…3,6 m diameter…..so not that small. Usually you are jumping up and down, maybe a rolly poly but…they are playing footy or soccer inside…..wrestling is possible, catching….and lots more….at the end of a session they will relax on the jumping sheet….I bet they would have fun with your hamster wheel as well but of course they will not use the wheel as it was thought from the prod. Manager…..

  3. These photos are adorable! Your girls are absolutely precious 🙂 So cute!

  4. Karen says:

    Yay for wide angle! Totally gets the whole feel of the wheel….just not the ‘squish me flat’ feel! LOL

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Karen, I love my wide angle, I’d have needed a ladder to get this shot otherwise, and it still wouldn’t have come out looking the way I wanted!

  5. Susan says:

    Oh what fun!! I need to get one…

    Have a blessed day!

  6. Brooke G says:

    It’s kinda crazy what kids find fun these days 😀 It does make for AWESOME photos though. What great shots you captured!!!!

  7. Oh wow, wish I had that when I was a kid! we did the same thing but with a nasty (but HUGE) inner-tube! Of course, in the winter, the same inner-tube was used to toboggan down the hill running over anyone who was silly enough to get in the way!

    Love the shots Jim, I really like the second especially all the reflections of the little one!

  8. Pingback: Day 210 – 06/03/11 – GBOP | Photos To 40

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

