Day 160 – 04/14/11 – CFL

I missed the sunlight today, so was unable to get an outside shot.  Sadly, I’m also suffering from a bad case of too-much-on-the-mind, which made being creative a bit difficult.

I grabbed a few subjects that looked like they might be interesting and shot a them rather randomly in my makeshift studio.  I wasn’t particularly happy with any of them, when I noticed the most interesting thing I’d seen so far wasn’t under my lights, it was my lights.  The Compact Flourescent Bulbs I use in my two main dishes have an interesting spiral pattern to them.  So I decided to give the lights a turn on the other side of the camera.

The business end of my lighting setup.

The business end of my lighting setup.

The weather forecast for this weekend is changing by the hour, but at the moment it looks like we may have decent weather this weekend.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed for anything other than pouring rain.  I’m really hoping to get out to the Metroparks and make some images in the fresh air.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 160 – 04/14/11 – CFL

  1. Very cool! These lines are amazing! I want to say I love the colors, but maybe I love the tones of this? Wow! 🙂

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Whitney! I actually considered doing this in B&W, but the touch of color in the two corners adds something in my opinion. I do like the tonality in it as well 🙂

  2. I like the POV on this well known subject.

  3. schleefy says:

    The POV is great. The lines and form…..a perfect “model”….Good one…

  4. Nice, love the lines as well as those lines made by the overhead lights! Isn’t it amazing how “everyday” items can make for an interesting shot?

  5. Pingback: Day 178 – 05/02/11 – Iris | Photos To 40

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

