Day 157 – 04/11/11 – Tokina!

Today’s choice of subject is an easy one.  In preparation for a trip later this summer, The Boss (aka the wife) has allowed me to fill the one gaping hole in my gear bag.

I made the purchase last week, and this afternoon UPS delivered a suspiciously lens shaped box from B&H Photo. I arrived home anxious for the ceremonial unboxing, and was greeted with my new Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 wide angle lens!

Tokina 11-16mm

Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8

This wide angle fills the hole at that end of my lens kit wonderfully.  Combined with my 18-55mm kit and my 70-300mm I have most focal lengths covered.  Add to that my fast 50mm and my beloved 100mm macro, and I don’t think I’ll need to purchase another lens for at least a week or two! (kidding honey, kidding!)

Tokina 11-16mm

Tokina 11-16mm

We had a beautiful 80 degree day yesterday, but the forecast calls for snow again this weekend.  No, I’m not making that up, really.  Assuming the weather gives me a chance, I plan on getting this new member of my lens family out for a workout at one of the several scenic locations nearby that I’ve had my eye on.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Day 157 – 04/11/11 – Tokina!

  1. Becky Sue says:

    Aw, man you are giving me lens envy! I thought my bases were covered too and now you show me this! Though, I think I’m going for a Lensbaby next.

    • Jim Reed says:

      I’ve heard a lot about the Lensbaby, but haven’t ever played with one. I may add that to my ‘someday’ list, but I think my next lens is either an even longer macro, or perhaps upgrading my kit lens to something higher quality. Someday 😉

  2. Looks like a nice toy.
    Would love to see pictures out of this lens 😉

  3. Duoae says:

    I’m SO jealous! :/

  4. I love my Tokina 11-16, great pick Jim! Looking forward to seeing your captures with this great lens. 😀

  5. Congrats on the new lens! I’m sure you’ll have lots of fun taking pics!

    Oh yeah, and good to recognize that wife = boss. 🙂

  6. Wow wow wow!! What an awesome lens!!!!! Jealous, jealous!! What kind of camera do you use?? I feel like I should know that! I’ve never heard of Tokina!

    • Jim Reed says:

      I’m actually using a Canon Rebel XTi. Tokina is a lens manufacturer that makes lenses for all the main body types. I typically prefer to buy Canon gear, but for the wide angle the Tokina lens is arguably better than the comparable Canon.

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

