Day 156 – 04/10/11 – These Shoes Are Made…

…for running.  I’m starting to get back into a consistent exercise routine.  Taekwondo is great, but not enough by itself.  Boy it sure is more difficult to stay in shape than it was 20 years ago! Among other things I’m hoping to pick up running again, a sport I enjoyed immensely in my youth.  Assuming my knees and shin splints don’t blow out again, I’m hoping to take the shine off these new running shoes over the next few weeks and months.

We made a good start of it today.  The big one has to run a mile for school later this spring, so the two of us decided to run a test mile at the rec center before our Sunday swim.  She didn’t think she’d be able to make a whole mile, but we quickly proved her wrong.  She enjoyed it so much in fact that when we got home she insisted on running another half mile around the neighborhood.  I may have created a monster!

A new pair of running shoes, cleaner than they'll ever be again.

A new pair of running shoes, cleaner than they'll ever be again.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 156 – 04/10/11 – These Shoes Are Made…

  1. bonniegunkel says:

    Good luck my friend! I took a first step and took the dogs for a walk today. About a mile and half, but a start. Great composition of those spiffy new shoes!

  2. Reminds me I need to get back on track 😉
    Simplistic “everyday” shot.

  3. Becky Sue says:

    Good for you! As I approached my 40th birthday I took up running for the first time in my life. I had a goal of running a 5.5 leg of a relay in a marathon and then after doing that for a couple years I stepped it up to a 1/2 marathon which I will repeat again in May. It’s good for the body and the soul. Best of luck!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Becky, and grats on the half marathon! I used to run cross country in high school and college, and did a few half marathon distance runs myself. Heck of a feeling, isn’t it?

  4. schleefy says:

    Don’t get me started on this. In Aussieland I have gone running 3 days a week for 8 KM and 3 times a week I visited the gym….since June 10 we are back in Germany. I run till October than I stopped it…a time problem. In Australia I had to drive max. 10 min to go to work or back, in Germany I drive between 46 – 60 min. I will be home at 06:00 pm than we will have dinner, playing with the kids before we put them to bed…Anyway I have to find time again because I gain to much weight….

    So good luck…and ..run a mile for me…..

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

