Day 144 – 03/29/11 – Goodyear

No, I’m not calling it a year and stopping the project already.  The title refers to Goodyear as in the tire company, and more specifically the blimp.

As I finished up my commute home this evening I noticed the blimp heading towards me.  Not an entirely uncommon thing here in Northeast Ohio as the blimps are headquartered out of Akron, but this one looked as if it were literally flying right up the road towards me.  As I pulled into the garage it was just starting to pass over the neighborhood.  I ran into the house, grabbed my camera and threw on my 70-300mm lens, and ran back out to grab an image.  I literally had time to snap two shots before the blimp passed over my neighbor’s house and behind the cover of the trees.

Compositionally I didn’t have a lot of room (or time) to arrange the scene the way I wanted, so I had to take what I could.  I played with it in processing a bit and decided that the image looks best as a panorama.  Other than the header of this site, I think this is the first pano I’ve used for Photos to 40.

The iconic blimp passes overhead.

The iconic blimp passes overhead.

I’m not done with the Holes series, and will likely return to it tomorrow.  I just thought this was too good an opportunity to pass up, even if I didn’t have time to get exactly the shot I would have liked.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 144 – 03/29/11 – Goodyear

  1. schleefy says:

    Good work….the blur is fantastic you focus on the the blimp and you photo is showing a dynamic…it looks like the blimp is moving….

  2. Wow, how VERY cool! Wish we had blimps to see (I thought of Fringe as soon as I saw this for some reason…). 🙂 I also like how the foreground is OOF, nice job Jim!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks David! Geek confession though, I’ve never actually watched Fringe so don’t know why this shot would evoke thoughts of it. I know I should watch it, have heard great things about it, but just never seem to get to it. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Day 146 – 03/31/11 – Bang Hole | Photos To 40

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

