Day 138 – 03/23/11 – Hole

I’m considering a different sort of theme or series.  Usually when I set out on a series it’s either completely accidental, or it’s something I have a number of ideas for going in.  This time I’m thinking of setting myself a challenge, picking a theme of some sort and finding subjects to shoot that match that theme.  We’ll see how it goes.

For the first challenge/theme, I’ve chosen Holes.  Don’t ask me how I came up with the idea, I’m not entirely sure.  But it struck me, and I decided to try it.  So here’s the first Hole image.  The wife and I disagree as to whether this is a cunning abstract which nobody will figure out, or a stunningly obvious subject.  To cover all bases I’m not going to tell you what it is – but if you scroll down a bit further there’s another image which will give you a rather sizable clue.

Cunning abstract, or glaringly obvious?

Cunning abstract, or glaringly obvious?

If you haven’t already figured it out and want to think about it for a minute, stop reading now.  If you want a 2×4-upside-the-head style clue, scroll down a bit.

.

.

.

.

Still here?  Ok, here’s the clue.

Not so much a clue as the answer.

Not so much a clue as the answer.

 

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Day 138 – 03/23/11 – Hole

  1. I love the idea! I thought it was a bottle of some sorts, just didn’t know what kind!

  2. Looks like an abstract to me Jim
    You should host a macro challenge 😉

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Sasi! And great idea! I’m actually planning on getting the macro outdoors as it starts warming up and getting some more outdoor macro abstract style shots.

  3. mindymilburn says:

    I love your different series, it really reminds me to look at the world around me more often. I would have NEVER guessed what this is but what a great shot! I just stared at it for the longest time trying to come up with something and as soon as I scrolled down I was like AW MAN! 🙂 Great job!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Mindy! I’m hoping to get that reaction on a few more of the Holes series, though I think today’s is self explanatory, so I didn’t even bother taking a ‘hint’ shot.

  4. Duoae says:

    Maybe i’m too hardcore a drinker but i knew it was an alcoholic opening… though i admittedly initially thought it was a beer bottle.

    Seeing the second pic….. is it Bushmill’s Whiskey by any chance?

  5. bonniegunkel says:

    Fabulous shot Jim! I was thinking it might be an opening of some sort, but wouldn’t have guessed a bottle. 🙂

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Bonnie! Some of the other Holes shots should be even easier to figure out, though I’ve got one or two planned which will hopefully be tricky 🙂

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

