Day 136 – 03/21/11 – Water Works

We had to delay our annual trip to the water park several times this year, due to work and poorly timed illness.  The original date was way back in January when I was shooting the Splashes series.  In fact I had planned on shooting the finale for the series in the waterpark.  What better place for an image full of splashing water?

It’s a bit late for the series, but I still managed to make the image I was after.  We rushed into the park this morning when it first opened, and were literally the first people in.  That gave us a few minutes to get some shots without disrupting anybody else – or having anybody else disrupt our shots.

Here’s the shot I was after so long ago, and was able to capture this morning.

Silhouetted water works at Castaway Bay.

Silhouetted water works at Castaway Bay.

I shot a few more in the same area in the morning light before the other guests arrived.

The little one silhoutted against falling water.

The little one silhoutted against falling water.

The big one silhoutted against falling water.

The big one silhoutted against falling water.

Castaway Bay has a huge bucket full of water that hangs over the top of the entire play area.  It fills over time and dumps every few minutes, soaking everything and everyone in it’s path.  The final image I was able to make before we were hit with a flood of guests was of the big one getting doused by the first bucket dump of the day.

This final shot has a completely different look and feel, but believe it or not it was shot just a few feet from – and a few moments after – the first shots.  Oh the difference the light makes.

The big one doused by the big bucket at Castaway Bay

The big one doused by the big bucket at Castaway Bay

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Day 136 – 03/21/11 – Water Works

  1. It’s amazing how light can affect everything. Initially reading your post inside an email, I saw your first image and thought that it was a background setting at some industrial plant!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Anthony! That was the effect I was going for, dark and gritty. Amazing when you compare to what the spot actually looks like in the light. I’d have loved to have more time to shoot there without interruption.

  2. Wow! I love this! I miss your blog so much! Your photos are amazing!

  3. mindymilburn says:

    WOW WOW WOW!! The first two shots are magnificent! I love the silhouette and the water and the color. One of my favorites of yours so far!

  4. Cute shots. I particularly like the silhouetted shots…
    3rd shot reminded me of a mermaid 😉

  5. schleefy says:

    I am a bit behind with reading blogs……..but that is a great playing with lights. I thought you took the first one at an old fabric….Wow…

  6. I can totally see the mermaid, great shots Jim, I really like the third image. Hope you guys had a blast!

  7. Mike Moruzi says:

    I agree with Anthony above. That first shot looks very industrial – like an oil rig in a rain storm. Beautiful.

  8. Deb says:

    Really interesting shots! I would have never thought the first few were in a water park.

  9. kbreints says:

    Love these shots! We were at a water park like this in the Dells over spring break… I was to afraid to take my SLR into the pool area! Now I wish I had!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks! I have to admit though, although I did take my DSLR to the park at the last minute I chickened out taking it into the water area. These shots were with my wife’s Canon point and shoot, which luckily I was still able to shoot in mostly manual mode.

  10. VERY cool stuff here. Love the light in the first few shots. Good job.

  11. julie says:

    VERY cool shots! Love the 3rd one 🙂

  12. Becky Sue says:

    Jim, these are great. Really wonderful silhouettes.

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

