Day 128 – 03/13/11 – Catch ’em All

As I mentioned, I’m not going to let myself take anymore macro shots for a little bit.  I’m going to force myself out of my microscopic rut, and start shooting some larger subjects.

In this case the subject isn’t that much larger.  The little one let me practice some lighting while she practiced catching her Pokemon.

The little one catches Pokemon while Daddy practices lighting.

The little one catches Pokemon while Daddy practices lighting.

I was aiming for loop lighting.  I believe I achieved the technical definition of loop lighting – the shadow on one side of the nose which is not connected to the shadow on the cheek – but I’m not terribly happy with the effect.  The lighting in general is harsher than I’d like.

Assuming I can convince the girls to let me continue shooting them over the next few days, I think this is an area I’ll practice a bit.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 128 – 03/13/11 – Catch ’em All

  1. You are lucky that your girls are cooperative for portrait shots – not here though, my 7yr old is hard to convince for a portrait.

    Nice portrait..see seems to be totally onto catching her Pokemon.

  2. The lighting is a tad harsh but I believe it works well in this image. As soon as I saw your title I knew it had something to do with Pokemon, my girls still love the game(s)/show!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks David! I tried my shoot through umbrella, which doesn’t seem to be doing as good a job of diffusion as the StoFen I usually use. Looks like more experimentation is necessary.

  3. mindymilburn says:

    She is so beautiful!

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

