Day 126 – 03/11/11 – Penned

One more shot from the Office series, probably the last.  I’m hoping to move on to another type of subject soon, though to be honest I haven’t got anything special in mind yet.  I do think I’m going to force myself to put the macro lens away for a bit.  I’m finding myself relying on it and extremely close compositions too much.

For now though, here’s a pen from my desk drawer.  Like the rest of the Office series, the subject itself is fairly simple.  I was originally shooting for the texture in the forefinger grip.  As I composed it though I was struck by the contrast between the two small spots of red against the largely black and white image.

Self explanatory.

Self explanatory.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 126 – 03/11/11 – Penned

  1. AWw, just because it’s a macro lens doesn’t mean you can’t take non-macro shots! I have some really nice non-macro shots taken with one of my macro’s. 😛 Nice focus on the ball, I found myself trying to figure out what was in the reflection! lol

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks David! I love my macro for non-macro shots as well, I particularly like it for portraits. But I’m finding myself falling too easily into the true macro shots when I use it. Time to give the other lenses a turn 😉

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

