Day 123 – 03/08/11 – Prickly Pile

Sticking with the ‘things around my office’ theme, I searched my desk and desk drawers for something to shoot tonight.  Considering I’ve been using this desk for nearly twenty years, delving too deep into the drawers could be a risky proposition.

Luckily I found a box of colorful thumb tacks rather close to the front of the drawer.  I haven’t had a bulletin board or anything else to tack into for decades, but let’s not dwell on that.  Whether or not I have any use for the tacks themselves, they did make a good subject for today’s image.

A pile of prickly push pins.

A pile of prickly push pins.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 123 – 03/08/11 – Prickly Pile

  1. You know, I can never find thumb tacks (as well as tape) whenever I need them! I really like all the colours as well as how the focal plane is in the upper third.

  2. mindymilburn says:

    Very nice shot, I love the colors and the patterns they are creating. This shoot in your office series is very cool!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Mindy! It’s a stretch to call it a series when it started out as just looking for something to shoot while being too lazy to get out of my desk chair, but I’ll take it 😉

  3. I’m always afraid to search through my desk…

    I like the thumb tack idea. Very colorful, and I also like the focal point and how the clear tacks pick up the surrounding colors.

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Jolene! I’ve moved this desk at least five times in the last twenty years, but I always just saran wrap the drawers and move it as is, so there is literally twenty plus years of undisturbed accumulation in there…

  4. Wow! Great DOF! Love it!

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

