Day 104 – 02/17/11 – Posted

Continuing on with the Fixtures series today.  In addition to door knobs and light switches, our houses are full of banisters, railings and posts.  Without them we’d fall on our keesters while going up and down the stairs, but they’re something we rarely look at.

Today’s subject is a decorative newel post from our main staircase.  I wanted to make an image of it not just for it’s interesting shape, but for the character in the wood.

Decorative oak newel post.

Decorative oak newel post.

I’m not sure how interesting these shots are from the viewer’s standpoint.  From my standpoint I’m rather enjoying them.  So far they’ve been fairly simple shots when it comes to lighting setup, but have been challenging as to composition.  I’ve been spending so much time focusing on the former the last few weeks that I’ve been lax on the latter, which makes shooting this series an interesting change of pace.

I’ll probably make a few more in this series.  If you’re finding them boring don’t worry, the weather is finally looking up here, so I’ll hopefully be getting to some outdoor shots soon!

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 104 – 02/17/11 – Posted

  1. Duoae says:

    I really like these sorts of shots. It’s turning the ordinary into extraordinary by placing them under a microscope. Possibly since, i feel, the best shots i do myself are macro…

  2. mindymilburn says:

    Not boring at all, I am enjoying this series right along with you 🙂

  3. Well done, makes me wish we had stairs! 😛 I have enjoyed this series, it’s great to be able to see the day to day items from a different view point.

    Sorry I haven’t commented lately, it’s been crazy busy here. 😀

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

