Day 98 – 02/11/11 – Full Windsor

I used to practically live in a suit.  Over the last few years I’ve pretty much gone business casual full time, and now I rarely wear anything dressier than Dockers and a button down.  We had a client visit the office today however, so it was time to spiff up a bit.

Though I hadn’t had to tie a tie in months, it’s one of those skills that just comes back to you – as long as you don’t think about it.  Give it too much thought on the other hand and you’ll end up with a Gordian knot around your neck.  I suppose there’s a life lesson in there somewhere.

One benefit of wearing a tie today, it gave me an opportunity for a quick image.  This is probably the closest to a self portrait that I’ll get in this project 😉

A full windsor knot.

A full windsor knot.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Day 98 – 02/11/11 – Full Windsor

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Day 98 – 02/11/11 – Full Windsor | Photos To 40 -- Topsy.com

  2. Love it, so rich in colour! I feel lucky that I don’t have to wear a tie for work…whew!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks David! I used to work in what was widely acknowledged to be the stuffiest, most formal accounting firm in the world (literally). I wore a tie six days a week for years. It’s amazing how what was absolutely second nature for so long has become so unusual that it prompted me to make an image. 😀

  3. bonniegunkel says:

    That’s a great tie!

  4. Duoae says:

    Love that tie!

    I’ve never been able to do a full-windsor…. only the half i learnt for school. Never seems to turn out right, no matter how many times i try.

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Duoae! To be honest this is in fact a half windsor knot, full windsor just sounded better as a title. I didn’t think it likely many people would know the difference 🙂 I can do a full windsor if necessary, but I’ve always liked the single dimple look of the half windsor better.

  5. I like this self-portrait shot 😉
    Love the rick colors and the pattern on the tie.

  6. Ooooh! What an amazing idea for a shot! I love this!!! It’s very inspiring… I might try something like this…
    I’ve had a little cabin fever as well lately (you said that in yesterday’s blog) but what a great idea. You’re doing well!! 🙂

  7. mindymilburn says:

    I LOVE a great tie and that is a fabulous shot, needs to go into a magazine 🙂

  8. lisahudson says:

    I had a flashback to The Big Chill for a moment. Nice shot. Kudos on getting creative when the weather won’t cooperate!

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

