Day 97 – 02/10/11 – Up In Flames

I mentioned yesterday that I had a few more Flames theme ideas.  I attempted one of them today (not the burning plastic), and it didn’t work out as I’d planned.

Luckily in the attempt I discovered an idea so completely obvious that I wonder why I hadn’t thought of it yet.  You see, I’ve shot flames on candles, flames on paper and flames on shot glasses – but I haven’t yet shot just the flames.  After my accidental discovery tonight I decided to rectify that.  And while I like many of the Flames images I’ve shot so far, I have to say I think these are my favorite.  Thank goodness for happy accidents.

The image of the day captures the flames leaping up from the log, including one bit in the left corner that’s actually completely disconnected from the wood.

Flames rise and jump from a burning log.

Flames rise and jump from a burning log.

As often happens, the girls prefer a different image from the series.  Their choice is a much closer shot of the flames, and gives the feeling of an inferno.  If you look closely at the bottom left, you can also see a clue as to how I achieved these high flames while shooting.

Flames dance atop a burning log.

Flames dance atop a burning log.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Day 97 – 02/10/11 – Up In Flames

  1. bonniegunkel says:

    Wow! These are freaking awesome Jim! Fabulous!

  2. Dijea says:

    Great flame shots!

  3. Mike Moruzi says:

    I was with the girls last time, but this time I prefer the shot from slightly further back. Nice shots.

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Day 97 – 02/10/11 – Up In Flames | Photos To 40 -- Topsy.com

  5. I prefer the top one and upon close observation see two rhythmic gymnasts (towards the top right) doing their intricate movements – may be I am dreaming and need to get to bed 😉

    Good one Jim.

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Sasi! You’re not just dreaming, I find these images to be like clouds – you can see all kinds of things if you look closely enough. My wife insists that one of the shots (not posted) looks like a big flame hand making a rude gesture at the camera 😀

  6. Freaking awesome is right! I agree with the girls this round, sorry Jim! I can feel the flames dancing, excellent captures. Don’t laugh, but in second image, lower left corner (okay, more towards the mid-lower left) I see a swan!! 😀

  7. I love flame photos!!!!!!!!!!!!! Great shots.

  8. Amy Avery says:

    That is an amazing shot! I have taken photos of flames before but have never captured it just as you have, so crisp and clear. I need your secret, do tell. Thanks for sharing such beautiful photos!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Amy! No secret, but the trick is in where to focus. Controlling where the flames will be – which I did through a flat top log and liberal use of lighter fluid – made the focus much easier to get.

  9. Jill says:

    love the flame shots 🙂 great job!

  10. Kate Russell says:

    That is an amazing photo, I have just started learning about taking photos other than point and shoot, so I am dying to buy a new camera that I can take some great photo’s, like yours.

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Kate! Don’t let your gear limit you though, you can do a tremendous amount with a point and shoot. Check out my friend and fellow blogger Bonnie Her blog has amazing images, and she shoots exclusively with a point and shoot!

  11. Sally says:

    WOW> These are aMAzing photos!

  12. Barb says:

    Absolutely beautiful, gorgeous shots!

  13. Joni says:

    i think these are beautiful. great job!

  14. Missy says:

    Oh Fire!! I can get lost in a stare down with a good fire. Love the capture here – beautiful! Something about flames, just speaks beauty.

  15. Mrs. H says:

    Wow! Great movement. What was your shutter speed? Very cool- going to check out the rest of your flames stuff now to see the ones you referenced. (here via Sweet Shot Tues)

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Mrs. H! These shots were both at 1/4000, f/1.8 for the first and f/2.8 for the second. I’ve played around with a lot of different shutter speeds in the various Flames shots to get different effects. Definitely fun to experiment with!

      • Mrs. H says:

        Ah, ok. Thanks! Makes sense – The flame edges are pretty distinct. I guess its the nature of flames to be wispy themselves though, so the middle of the flames don’t really have any distinct details themselves. I really like this close up set in your flames theme. Great work!

        • Jim Reed says:

          I think part of the distinctness of these particular flames compared to the other images is due to the nature of these flames themselves. Rather than docile candle flames, or even normal wood burning flames, these were very harsh very active flames. I kept them that way by constantly feeding the fire with lighter fluid while shooting (you can see some droplets streaming in on the bottom left of the second shot). In fact, the wood itself wasn’t even burning, it was just the fluid. That made for a distinct difference in the flames, and I believe the resulting images.

  16. Karen says:

    And what kind of lens did you use? Seriously fabulous captures!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Karen! The first image is with a 50mm f/1.8 lens. The second, closer image, is with my 100mm f/2.8 macro. I was about as close as I wanted to be with the 50 and had to change to a longer lens to get any closer up! 😀

  17. Erika B says:

    Wow, this is so cool! Perfect flames and I must say that I really like the second one best.

    Erika B

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

