Day 95 – 02/08/11 – Fahrenheit 451

Don’t worry, I’m not burning books.  While the title of the post is in fact inspired by the book of the same name, it refers to the temperature at which paper in general burns – not just books in a dystopian future.

The girls were all at Scouts of one form or another this evening, and the Puppy was hiding in the basement (I think she knew what I had planned) so I had the house to myself to experiment, so I thought I’d try another Flame image.  Specifically I wanted to burn some papers.  I was hoping to catch that unique look of fast burning paper, when you have the blue beginnings of a flame, the actual flame itself, and the smoldering remnants of the fire all at the same time.

As with many of the candle shots, I ended with two images I liked – one with a relatively static flame and one with flame in motion.  The flame in motion image is the shot of the day as that’s the one the wife chose 😉

Flames in motion atop a bundle of papers.

Flames in motion atop a bundle of papers.

While I like that shot, I also like the static flame image.  It is more in line with what I set out to capture with the prominent embers and blue flame along the bottom.

A bundle of papers begins to burn down.

A bundle of papers begins to burn down.

This may be the last in the Flames series.  While the subjects themselves are different, I’m finding that the behavior of the flames and the way the camera captures them are becoming very similar.  Unless I can come up with something off the wall to try I’m likely going to be moving on.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 95 – 02/08/11 – Fahrenheit 451

  1. Mike Moruzi says:

    Jim, I really like the flame in motion. I really like how the flame is swirling down to the left and bottom. I also like the contrast of the black burnt paper. Another flame idea… I (once upon a time) experimented with burning a bic pen. It burns well and drops little balls of burning plastic. Make sure you do it over a nice metal bucket or such!

  2. Love the book, when I saw your title I knew what was in store but didn’t know how much I would love the first image, it’s awesome Jim!! I can just imagine how it must have looked when capturing the image. The funnel of flame in the lower left corner is simply cool.

    You can try straws (unless the making of straws have changed). The straws also made flaming plastic balls and as a bonus, made a cool sound as they dropped.

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks David! Interesting idea on the straws. I’ll give that or Mike’s suggestion on the pen a try, I’d like to squeeze another flame shot or two out of the series if I could 🙂

  3. mindymilburn says:

    OH now I really like both of these! The first is my favorite though 🙂 I totally understand what you are saying about the action of the flames being the same but I will never tire of seeing them.

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Mindy! I did come up with another idea, which I’m going to try if I can make it work. There’s also the plastic idea David and mike proposed, so I’m likely to give that a shot as well. So perhaps another day or two of Flames before I move on 😀

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

