1st Quarter Recap

I can’t believe it’s been 90 days already.

I can’t believe there’s 275 days to go…

When I set out on this project I thought I might improve my photographic skills, reflect a bit on the things around me, and have fun.  In reverse order I know I’ve done the last, think I’ve done the second, and hope I’ve done the first.  I’ll let you be the judge of that one.

A while ago Mindy suggested that I make a collage of some of my shots.  She meant a collage of the Splash theme, which I still intend to do, but I thought a collage every 90 days or so of some of that quarter’s shots might be a good idea.  I say might be, as I found that my collage making skills are somewhat lacking 😀  If anyone knows of a good way to make a random collage in Lightroom, please let me know!  Anyway, here are some of my favorite shots from the last three months:

Collage of my favorite images from the first 90 days of Photos to 40

Collage of my favorite images from the first 90 days of Photos to 40

For my own kicks and giggles, I also wanted to pick out my personal favorite image.  I found that harder to do than I’d expected.  I couldn’t narrow it down to just one (big surprise, right?), so I picked three – one from each month of the project.

Happy but tired as we await our chariot to the airport.

Happy but tired as we await our chariot to the airport.

Water droplets on a poinsettia leaf.

Water droplets on a poinsettia leaf.

Colorful water glasses.

Colorful water glasses.

I’d love to hear which of the images from the last 90 days is your favorite!

Over the last three months I’ve had several thousand visits to my little project, nearly 600 comments, made some new friends, and learned a lot from them.  All in all I’m willing to call the project a success so far, and I’m looking forward to the next 9 months.  I hope you are too!

This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 1st Quarter Recap

  1. Nice work on the collage!

  2. I have to say my fav is the water droplets on the Poinsettia, simply awesome! Great lighting, DoF, sharpness where needed. What a great idea and, congratzzz on 90 days!!

  3. Ness says:

    Hi Jim, how are you? I really like the collage, the portrait, all the water droplets series and the wine glass series. I see you got Syl’s speedliters handbook, cool, I was waiting for that ever since he announced it early last year, but completely forgotten about it. Thanks to you, I’m heading right now to amazon. Have a great day Jim

  4. mindymilburn says:

    I LOVE it!! I am still looking forward to the color splash one too 😉 but this is a fabulous substitute and what a great way to display your natural talent my friend. The ones you chose are many of my own personal favorites!

  5. You got quite a bit of good stuff there. I really like the one with poinsettia leaf adorned with water drops 😉

    Good luck further on your 365 project and I am sure it’ll be a breeze now that you’re past the first quarter.

  6. I love this! What a great idea!! I feel like my favorite is missing, but now I can’t remember which one that is… Probably because all your stuff is amazing! Congrats on the 90 days!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Whitney! It was hard narrowing the shots down to these for the collage. Not that they are all that good, but I had fun with nearly every one of them and wanted to include each 🙂

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

