Day 89 – 02/02/11 – Flame Shot

I doubt it will be as long a theme as Splash was, but it seems that I’ve made enough Flame images that they’ve earned a theme of their own.  I have another one or two in mind before I move on.

Tonight’s image was inspired by an interesting factoid I picked up in my younger, dumber days.  Namely that some alcoholic drinks burn quite nicely without doing any damage to the glass (or anything else coated with the alcohol.)  That’s probably enough said about that!

So I set out tonight with the only shot glass in the house, a bottle of vodka which has been sitting around since my wedding fifteen years ago (had to find a use for it somehow!), and a handy fire extinguisher.  The results are below:

This vodka really burns going down.

This vodka really burns going down.

As usual with these shoots I made far more images than I ever post.  The big one asked me to post a second today though, as she’s convinced that this image looks like a howling wolf of flame sitting on top of the glass.

A flame forms the shape of a howling wolf.

A flame forms the shape of a howling wolf.

And a word of warning if you try this at home, we did have a casualty in today’s shoot.   Sadly the shot glass did not survive.  While it came through the burning alcohol with flying colors, during cleanup I forgot that hot glass + cold water = bad news.

Alas poor shot glass, we hardly knew ye!

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Day 89 – 02/02/11 – Flame Shot

  1. bonniegunkel says:

    These are just freaking cool! And I totally agree…I see the howling wolf! Sorry about the shot glass though! 🙂

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Bonnie! The images were sort of like clouds, we found all kinds of shapes in them when we started looking! No worries about the glass, it hasn’t been used in ten years, at least this way it got to go out in a blaze (pardon the pun!) of glory!

  2. bonniegunkel says:

    Ooh! And the top one could be devil horns 🙂

  3. cool ideas, cool shot also. -Kim

  4. Becky Sue says:

    Wow, love your experiments!

    http://cggrlogan.wordpress.com/

  5. mindymilburn says:

    Another fantastic experiment! You are are taking all of these ordinary elements around your house and creating art. That takes a special kind of talent. Today I had a hard time choosing between the two but I think I prefer the movement once again. It had more dimension to it and makes me feel like I can see the flame dancing around. Very nice!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Mindy, that’s a heck of a compliment! I had quite a few movement ones, I may put some more up on Flickr when I have time. There was one I really liked (I was outvoted by the girls) where the flame actually came over the top on both sides and down around the glass.

  6. I think the big one had a great idea by asking to post the second photo, it’s my fav too! Yes, I do see the wolf, great shot! I really like these, so going to have to try some flame shots.

    On A side note, I often have my girls decide which photo to use! 😀

  7. Hahahaha. Love the inspiration here! This is really cool!

  8. jilll says:

    one word – AWESOME! he he he! love your tip at the end 🙂 glad no one got hurt in the making of this photo!

  9. Leigh says:

    Awesome. Reminds me of the beginning of my 21st birthday… (shudder…) ha!

  10. kbreints says:

    You have blown my mind. Officially. I would not have thought of this, but you can bet I will be trying it now! Such. great. Shots. Love!

  11. Chelsea says:

    WOW! Those are very cool.

  12. Heather says:

    Wow, these are the shots that make me want to learn how to really use my camera!

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

