Day 88 – 02/01/11 – Flame On

I had so much fun with the candle shoot yesterday that I thought I’d play around some more today.  Rather than shooting a regular candle though, I brought out one of those trick candles.  The ones that light themselves on fire again after you blow them out.

Although they can be terribly annoying if you are actually trying to put one out, they make a great subject if you are just playing around with different flame images.  Here’s one sputtering back to life after being blown out.

A trick candle sputters back to life.

A trick candle sputters back to life.

One other thing I learned about these candles – they don’t blow out easily.  I don’t mean that they come back to life, which I knew, I mean they don’t actually blow out in the first place very easily.  Which made for an interesting dual image when I fired off a frame as I tried unsuccessfully to blow the candle out the first time.

A ghostly candle flame.

A ghostly candle flame.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 88 – 02/01/11 – Flame On

  1. bonniegunkel says:

    I love the ghostly one! So awesome!

  2. What a cool idea! I love the first picture, I might even have to try it :).

  3. I really like the first picture (and I am going to try this…just don’t know when). The wick in the ghostly image is just awesome, love the detail. It’s really hard for me to say which I like better (ever notice we “bloggers” tend to state which photo we like better?) so I will just say that I like both! They both have excellent qualities. 😀

  4. mindymilburn says:

    That second shot is awesome. The movement that you captured really has a feeling about it, an eerie quality but I LOVE IT!!

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

