Day 87 – 01/31/11 – Flame Dance

I set out this evening to experiment rather than to create an image.  I’ve been meaning to make some images of flames for awhile now, it’s something I’ve never tried.  So initially I just set out to make some test images of a candle flame.

After a variety of standard still shots, I switched to a longer exposure to see what sort of movement I could capture.  Here’s my favorite of the resulting images.

A candle flame dances in the breeze.

A candle flame dances in the breeze.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Day 87 – 01/31/11 – Flame Dance

  1. bonniegunkel says:

    Well that is just cool. One of these days I hope to get a big girl camera and then I can know what you’re talking about LOL 🙂

  2. Lovely shot Jim.

    I think there are lots of visual elements in this shot that makes this a great post. I like the tight crop/shot on the candle top and the soft looking flame – call it wonders of long exposure.

  3. Love the symmetry as well as the flame not even mentioning the blue and the wick! Great shot over all Jim. Capturing flames is on my list of “gotta play with”! 😀

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks David! I’m not done playing with the flames yet (boy, that sounds wrong doesn’t it?). Now that I’ve got the basics of shooting them down I’ve got a few more ideas I want to try out.

  4. Jill says:

    What a great shot!!!! Love the colors and motion!

  5. Really fun shot. I have never tried to shoot a flame other than birthday candles : ) Must try tonight. Love it!

  6. Barb says:

    Amazing what goes on around us and we can’t even see it! Beautiful, inspiring shot!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Barb, and thanks for stopping by! Finding those things that are all around us that we sail right by is one of the things I love about photography. It really makes you stop and look!

  7. I’ve always wanted to try this with success. Your picture has given me motivation to play around with my settings to get that perfect shot!

  8. Wow, this is really cool. I’ve never seen a candle shot like this. Absolutely gorgeous! xx

  9. mindymilburn says:

    Love it, flames and fire are one of the most fascinating things to capture because you will never get the same image and your experiment paid off. This is a fantastic shot!

    Sorry I am just now playing catch up on the last few days 🙂

    • Jim Reed says:

      Heh, no problem Mindy, I sort of got behind myself, still digging out! Thanks! I’ll be doing more fire/spark/flame shots in the near future, it may even turn into a theme… 😉

  10. Pingback: Tweets that mention Day 87 – 01/31/11 – Flame Dance | Photos To 40 -- Topsy.com

  11. julie says:

    How cool is that! GREAT sweet shot! 🙂

  12. Amber says:

    Very cool shot! I always look forward to seeing what your are experimenting with.

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

