Day 84 – 01/28/11 – Low Hanging Fruit

Just a quick shot tonight.  I worked with the shoot through umbrella again this evening.  I really like the ring of light I was able to get with it on the apple.  I’ll definitely be playing with this some more.

A healthy, hanging snack.

A healthy, hanging snack.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Day 84 – 01/28/11 – Low Hanging Fruit

  1. bonniegunkel says:

    I love the composition of this! You are so clever Jim!

  2. Emily Gooch says:

    Interesting composition and use of lighting. Looking forward to see more experiments. 🙂

  3. I remember the day I moved to off camera flash. It rocks.

    Just for the record, it doesn’t stop with just one flash, a second one will soon be in your future.

    • Jim Reed says:

      Shhhh, not so loud, my wife will hear you! 😉 But you’re absolutely right, I’ve got a 580EX II on my wish list already, I’m itching to play around with dual flash!

  4. Hahahaha, I totally agree with Terri! I will be picking up two 580EX II’s this coming month since my 430EX II is getting lonely! There have been more than once where I wish I had more Speedlites…sigh. Have you ever looked at outdoor strobist portrait shots? I love how they look, can’t wait to start doing it!

    Love the PoV, the apple light ring rocks! The only thing I think I would have done a tad differently is to try to compose a little more symmetrical with the top and bottom. The negative space at the top and the cropped orange at the bottom distracted me for a tad. It’s not like it’s a photo killer but more of an observation! Great job Jim.

    Day 84??? Where on earth did the time go? I think I came on board around 25’ish. Wow, can’t wait to see day 184! 😛

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks David! Two 580s and a 430? That’ll be great! If you like the outdoor strobist portraits, you’re going to love some of the setups in the Speedliter’s book. I’m anxiously awaiting non-Arctic temperatures to go outside and try some outdoor flash after reading them!

      I agree on the composition, I would have loved to have another handful of apples and oranges to fill in the upper right, but I used every piece of fruit in the house. Believe it or not I even tried to stick a softball in the center to free up those pieces of fruit so I could move them to the edges 😀 Unfortunately I couldn’t hide the ball, so it looked like a very odd fruit salad 🙂

  5. mindymilburn says:

    So loving the perspective on this and the lighting is fabulous. I can’t wait to see your experiments. I haven’t moved to off camera flash yet, I am too scared lol

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

