Day 82 – 01/26/11 – Set Shot

I set out this evening to create another image like last night’s, based on lighting for effect.  Sadly, my experiments didn’t turn out the way I’d hoped.

I was shooting a model ship, with the intent of creating a dawn like light on the bow of the ship.  I have an idea of how I’d do this if I had some gels for my flash, but I don’t (yet).  So I experimented with a technique that worked well for me in the water drop series, bouncing the flash off of colored paper.  While that did in fact add color to the light, I wasn’t able to create quite the effect I wanted.  Rather than the rosy fingers of dawn, I found myself creating the sickly pink of Pepto on the normally white sails of the ship.

I’ll come back to this idea at a later date, but as for this evening I ran out of time.  Rather than posting an image I don’t like, I thought I’d post an image of the setup itself.  I’m open to any suggestions or advice on techniques I should try.

The setup I was using in my failed attempt to create dawn's light.

The setup I was using in my failed attempt to create dawn's light.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 82 – 01/26/11 – Set Shot

  1. mindymilburn says:

    Well it looks like it kind of worked though, maybe try a different color paper or use two colors. I think you are being too hard on yourself for sure because I can see hints of a sunrise on the sails.

    Maybe I am further away from it so it doesn’t look so pink to me but I think you had the right idea just maybe use a different color paper. Gels will work well but even with a gel it is sometimes too much of the color being bounced back on the subject so I think any way you go it will be an experiment. Love the set up!!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Mindy. I’ll definitely try this one again, my wife’s been after me to shoot the ship for too long for me not to! It doesn’t show in the set shot, but the coloration on the sails was much more pink than I was after, and also spread further than I wanted. In addition to trying different paper as you suggest, I may try this outside of the light tent so I have a bit more room to flag and shape the light.

  2. Duoae says:

    Man that is complicated and awesome at the same time! Now i know why you try to go for just the light in the camera. Haha…. having just a camera (in my case) is a little limiting in the pictures you can take 🙂

  3. Looks like you have a diffuser on the Speedlite, have you tried bouncing without it? Some of my “bounced colour” has been used with a bare speedlite. Hope you don’t mind a link but here’s my only attempt (okay okay, there were many attempts during that shoot) of capturing water droplets where I have bounced as mentioned.

    Water Droplet

    • Jim Reed says:

      Good point David, when I was getting bounce color on my water drop shots I was bare bulb too. The resulting bounce was definitely truer to the color. I’ll give that a shot, thanks! And no, I don’t mind the link at all 😉

  4. Katie L. says:

    I know nothing about flashes and external lights and all that jazz…but I must say that your set up itself makes for a really neat looking shot!

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

