Day 80 – 01/24/11 – Growler

I’ve mentioned a few times that I’m reading Syl Arena’s Speedliter’s Handbook.  In one section he discusses various types of portrait lighting, including one that I knew I had to try at some point: Horror Lighting.  It’s effectively the same lighting technique we all learn in summer camp when we hold a flashlight under our chin to tell scary stories.

I’d planned on saving the technique for sometime around Halloween next year, but today’s The Daily Shoot assignment is “Use hard light that casts sharp distinct shadows in a photograph”.  Combine that with the fact that I’m in a hurry this evening and, well, you can see where I’m going.

So here’s the big one for the second night in a row.  She was more than happy to make scary faces at Daddy while we got the flash just right.  It’s not exactly a portrait we’d send out on the Christmas cards, but I don’t think anyone can argue that it’s not “hard light that casts sharp distinct shadows.”

The big one growls while lit with Horror Lighting

The big one growls while lit with Horror Lighting

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 80 – 01/24/11 – Growler

  1. Hahaaha, this totally brought a smile to my face and now I can’t wait for Halloween to come around. The big one sure has the “scary look” down pat, tell her great job!

  2. mindymilburn says:

    What a great shot, it kind of reminds me of light painting, which is also a FUN experiment!

  3. Erika B says:

    Great fun with light and shadow. Totally scary!

    Erika B

  4. Veronica says:

    Love the color shots, the water and food coloring swirls. I will have to try this just for fun! Thanks for stopping by my blog. Have a great day. V.

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

