Day 75 – 01/19/11 – Splash of Ice

Tonight’s image is another in the Splash series, and is one I’ve been both looking forward to making, and somewhat nervous about.  The idea was to drop ice cubes into a drink and capture the resulting splash.

Of course to make a splash of any size you have to drop the cube from a decent height.  The results were some of the larger splashes to date.  They were also the first that I wasn’t able to carefully control.   Combine that with the fact that two of my beloved foam boards – not to mention my Speedlite itself – were mere inches from the splash zone and you can see why I was nervous.  As it turned out the foam boards took only minor splash damage, and only a single errant drop found its way onto the diffuser on the Speedlite.  Of course shortly after we wrapped up I thought of about a dozen ways I could have controlled the splash zone better, isn’t that always the way it is?

An ice cube makes a splashy entrance.

An ice cube makes a splashy entrance.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Day 75 – 01/19/11 – Splash of Ice

  1. thedreamwords says:

    Cool

  2. mindymilburn says:

    another great shot and another creative idea. I would love to see a collage of the latest shots all together in a series.

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Mindy! That’s a great idea, I may do exactly that for this series and perhaps the previous series as well. I haven’t played with making collages, but I’m pretty sure Lightroom has a tool to do it. I’ll experiment!

  3. Sounds like a cool project. Love the freeze action on the splash.

  4. Nicely done Jim, I too love the splash on the left frozen in time, reaching for something off camera! Was wondering, did you try cropping out part of the “white” space at the top? I am so going to have to try this.

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks! This is actually cropped a bit already, full frame there are a huge number of random splash drops that were quite distracting to the overall image. This was definitely one of the messier shots, it was much harder to anticipate where the splash would be, or to confine it. I was also really hoping to catch an ice cube half in and half out of the water, just starting to make the splash. The timing of that eluded me, and the growing mess cut the experimentation short! If I try this again I’m either going to place the water glass behind a glass pane and shoot through it, or perhaps inside a large tub and shoot with a longer lens from further away.

  5. Wow! What a great idea!

  6. Deb says:

    Great capture! Love the action and the vibrant color.

  7. Jill says:

    nicely done! Love it! 🙂 You know I’m all about the drip drop water shots lately!!!

  8. liz says:

    love water shots this one is very neat.

  9. Robyn says:

    VERY, very cool! I don’t think I’m as brave to attempt a shot like this… yet at least! 🙂

  10. Sheri says:

    Very cool! Speedlight is next on my list.

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Sheri! The Speedlite is great, it’s been incredibly useful! I strongly suggest picking up Syl Arena’s Speedliter’s Handbook as well, it take the mystery out of figuring out how to use the flash.

  11. kbreints says:

    Love! Such a great idea, and fun captures 🙂

  12. julie says:

    Great capture…water is absolutely amazing! 🙂

  13. Michelle says:

    how fun! I’ve played with water drops, but not splashes… gonna have to make a mess, soon! lol! Thanks for the inspiration.

    Great shot –

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Michelle, and thanks for stopping by! You should definitely try some splash shots. Once you get past the fear of frying your gear with flying water (not such a huge risk if you plan where the water flies!) they are really enjoyable shoots!

  14. Pingback: 1st Quarter Recap | Photos To 40

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

