Day 72 – 01/16/11 – Splash of Flavor

I decided to continue playing with off camera flash today, and also decided to revisit the water drops from a few weeks ago.  This time there was a twist though.  Rather than catching the drops as they splashed down, I wanted to catch them in free fall.

For this shoot a simple baggie of water with a hole in it wouldn’t suffice.  While effective at dropping water, that setup was hardly photogenic.  Enter the Tabasco bottle, a perfect water delivery device.

A splash of hot sauce.

A splash of hot sauce.

As tends to happen on Sundays, I spent more time than usual shooting, and accordingly ended up with more images I wanted to share.  Here’s two more of the hot sauce drops.  They’re similar to the first, though the emptying bottle adds an interesting effect.

Drops of hot sauce fall from the bottle.

Drops of hot sauce fall from the bottle.

Hot sauce, good to the last drop.

Hot sauce, good to the last drop.

This final image, actually one of the first I shot, is a bit silly, but I really enjoy it.

Hot sauce in zero gravity.

Hot sauce in zero gravity.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 72 – 01/16/11 – Splash of Flavor

  1. Great idea!! I would have to say I like the second shot the best. I love that there are ample droplets captured as well as air bubbles within the bottle. 😀

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks David! The droplet pattern on these shots were really varied. Depending on how many air bubbles formed, I either ended up with nearly solid streams, or incredibly sporadic drops like in this shot. It made the results quite interesting!

  2. mindymilburn says:

    I love this series of shots. You are really stepping up the creativity and I am so inspired.

  3. Lisa says:

    Zero gravity is, by far, my favorite. Way to tap your creativity in the dead of winter!

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

