Day 68 – 01/12/11 – Blue

Today is yet another in the Colors theme, Blue.  I hope you’re not getting tired of the colors yet, because I still have one or perhaps even two left in the pipeline.  I haven’t stuck with a theme this long before, but I’m learning a ton on these and also having a lot of fun.

One of the gifts I received for Christmas from the wife was a set of Scotch glasses.  Along with them she got me some reusable plastic ice cubes.  The theory behind the ice cubes is that they chill the Scotch without melting and diluting it.  Sort of like Whisky Stones without the risk of chipping your teeth.

The glasses themselves are amazing, much better than the typical tumbler I’ve been drinking out of forever.  The ice cubes though… well the jury is still out on them.  But whether or not they are good for chilling my Oban and Glenfiddich, their multiple shades of blue do make them perfect subjects for today’s image.

Dark and light blue ice cubes spill from a tumbler.

Dark and light blue ice cubes spill from a tumbler.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 68 – 01/12/11 – Blue

  1. Tired of colours? Nawww, keep em coming! Okay, so don’t laugh but the ice cubes reminded me of when my kids were little (as in…teething little), they used teething rings that had water in them and you froze them! Hey, it is 5:30 in the morning here…let’s blame my crazy rambling to that eh? 😛

    I like how you set up the photo, the ice cubes are spread out very nicely. I think perhaps there might be a tad too much blue in here though, seems to “wash” it out a little (remember…5:30). Can’t wait to see more!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks David! I know those teething rings, these things are amazingly similar.

      You might be right on the too much blue-ness as well. We have some white cubes as well as the blue and light blue, I actually considered adding some of those in to offset the blue. That might have added some visual pop back into the shot.

  2. mindymilburn says:

    I for one am not tired of colors at all! As I said yesterday I am loving this series of photos. I am always so inspired by the way other photographer friends see the world and you are a fine example of that Jim!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Mindy! I’m running low on background colors, unless I go into the various shades of pink and blue – which I just might. But as is I’ve got at least one more, perhaps two depending on how well one of my ideas pans out 😉

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

