Day 67 – 01/11/11 – Purple

Today’s image is the next in the Colors theme, Purple.

The subject is a partially complete Tinker Toys construction, though these are nothing like the Tinker Toys I knew when I was a kid.  For one thing they are plastic rather than wood, and quite reflective, which made the lighting on this shot trickier than the last few have been.

The final shot is two lights, one diffused and one bounced off of a reflector.  I’m happy with the minimal level of reflections off of the plastic, but still not completely satisfied with the shadows.  This is an area I’m going to keep working on when I have more time to experiment.  I know I’ve been saying that a lot lately 😉  I’ll hopefully be able to dedicate a Saturday or Sunday one of these weekends to just playing around with the lighting setups.

Purple and pink Tinker Toy chassis, under construction.

Purple and pink Tinker Toy chassis, under construction.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 67 – 01/11/11 – Purple

  1. Plastic Tinker Toys? Certainly not the ones I am used to as well, how sad. Nicely composed photo here, I actually like the shadows in this shot, I think they work well with the Tinker Toy’s frame.

    • Jim Reed says:

      I know, I had to check the tin they came in twice to make sure they were actually Tinker Toys. So much has changed with classic toys from when we were kids!

      The final shadows around the Tinker Toy frame I’m ok with, they started out way too harsh but I was able to soften them up with the second light to where they are now. It’s the shadows on the spindle and wheels on the right of the shot that I don’t care for. I tried to bounce a little light back on them to open that area up a bit but couldn’t get the precision I wanted. I need to cut some of my foam boards down to make smaller reflectors and play with that some more.

  2. mindymilburn says:

    The shades of purple in this are fabulous! I really enjoy this latest series of photos you have been taking lately!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Mindy, glad you’re enjoying them! I’ve got two, perhaps three more planned before I move on. I have no idea what my next theme may be, perhaps that’s why I’m sticking with this one so long! 😉

  3. I love all of the shapes here! And, how you created a rectangle with the circles, it looks great! Interesting and great depth! I love this sequence of color too! These are amazing! Keep up the great work!!! : )

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Whitney! This is the first of the Colors shots that I didn’t already have a composition in mind when I set up. I played with a lot of different setups before I settled on the final arrangement!

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

