Day 65 – 01/09/11 – Water World

While today’s images all heavily use color, this is not the next image in the Colors theme, I’ll return to that shortly. It seems that Sundays are developing a theme of their own though – family projects resulting in multiple images.

Last weekend it was the trip to the Botanical Gardens.  This weekend we didn’t have so far to go, it was just a trip to the kitchen.  More specifically, to a dish of water in the kitchen, where we spent an hour or so taking macro water drop shots.  We had a lot of fun trying out different backdrops, different flash positions and different shooting angles.  The results, fortunately or unfortunately depending on how you look at it, were nearly impossible to wean down to just a single image.  So we didn’t.  We agreed on the shot of the day, then gave up and decided to just post our favorites – a list which we couldn’t get below half a dozen.  Here they are, I hope you enjoy them as much as we do!

Our joint favorite, the official image for Day 65:

A purple water droplet falling onto a water splash.

A purple water droplet falling onto a water splash.

The wife’s favorite, the blue marble:

A marbled drop of water, frozen moments before impact.

A marbled drop of water, frozen moments before impact.

Blue Pillar:

A blue pillar of water formed by a droplet splashing into a pool.

A blue pillar of water formed by a droplet splashing into a pool.

Water Crown:

A crown of water, formed moments after a drop splashed down.

A crown of water, formed moments after a drop splashed down.

Turquoise Tower:

A turquoise water tower

A turquoise water tower

Purple Drips:

Two water droplets, caught in freefall.

Two water droplets, caught in freefall.

These shots are actually the reason I purchased wireless triggers for my flash unit.  I’ve been wanting to take these for awhile, and just haven’t had the time necessary for the setup.  I’m glad we finally made the time, and we enjoyed this shoot so much I’m sure it’s something we’ll be playing around with again!

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Day 65 – 01/09/11 – Water World

  1. livvy30 says:

    I LOVE these, but then again, I am obsessed with water drop pictures! Can I ask how you got the different colours? Is it lights or editing?
    http://ayearinmyshoes.wordpress.com

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Olivia, and thanks for stopping by! I actually did very little post processing on these, and no color changes at all. The different colors are all from different color paper off of which I bounced the flash. The multi-color shots, like the shot of the day, are from a bounce card of one color and a different color background that I placed under the dish itself.

      • livvy30 says:

        Brilliant idea! I must try it out. I did try food dye as well with sunlight behind it, but it was a bit dark.

        • Jim Reed says:

          I wish I could take credit for the idea, but I found out about it from Photo Gavin, he’s got a YouTube video here that started me off. One thing I did change was the basin. He used a black pan, I used a glass dish which allowed me to put different colors under the dish as well. Fun to play with!

  2. bonniegunkel says:

    Wow! I would have had a hard time picking a favorite as well! These are all amazing! Thanks too for the explanation above on how you made them happen. 🙂

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Bonnie, and no problem! I highly suggest you give it a shot, it was a ton of fun. If you do give it a shot though, be sure to have a towel handy. Our first few attempts at the putting a hole in the baggie were…. messy 😉

  3. A-ma-zing! Love the colours. And the sharpness.
    Thanks for the tips and link to the video. My bf just tried something similar yesterday and this looks like the answer to taking it to the next level.

  4. chriscaff says:

    Excellent, quality shots. Well done!

  5. Oh my goodness! You and your macro are killing it! Your photos could make great product ads! Wow wow and wow. I hate that I’ve been slacking lately, your photos have been beyond amazing. I wish I had a little extra time to keep up! Great work Jim!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Whitney! I actually wouldn’t mind getting into product photography, I’ve been having a blast playing around with the lighting, it would be interesting to do that professionally!

  6. mindymilburn says:

    I am so jealous, I can’t do this to save my soul. These are all stunning separately but as a series they are fantastic!

  7. Duoae says:

    Great shots! My favourite is definitely the blue marble but the joint favourite one is cool also. 🙂

    I took my camera out yesterday too and i have quite a few macro shots of wildlife that i saw on my walk.

  8. Jill says:

    These are all gorgeous! I have recently really got into taking water drop shots. Shared some more of them today too. I posted a tutorial on it last week!

    Love yours! Great job!!!
    Jill
    http://fnaphotography.blogpsot.com

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Jill! And great shots on your blog as well, I love that you got some amazing drop shots through a completely different method! I hadn’t even thought of trying to capture these without the flash, I may have to give it a shot. I was going to point out the Gavin Photo tutorial I mentioned in an earlier comment, but I see you have that listed in your tutorial as well 😉

  9. Katie L. says:

    WOWZA! These are all so stunning!!! Excellent job!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Katie, and thanks for stopping by! I skimmed your blog and you’ve got some amazing shots there! I’ve added it to my reader and will stop by for a more thorough browse as soon as I can!

  10. Awesome job Jim, water droplet shots can certainly be difficult. I think (it’s hard to call) my fav is the first one. I love the multiple colours as well as the great focus on the droplets. Love the “catch” light on the higher droplet, as said before, awesome job!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks David! I like that one as well, for the same reason. I love the layers in the color caused by the bounce card – interrupted by the colored sheet under the dish – then the bounce card again. I’m going to play with that affect some more on the next go around, perhaps with multiple sheets under the dish.

  11. mommarocks says:

    wow, I love how you can change the color like that. Really cool shots.

  12. Kathleen says:

    AMAZING!! I’m such a novice, I don’t know how you people who know what you’re doing do this, but thank you for taking these shots for everyone to enjoy!!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Kathleen, and thanks for stopping by! I took a quick glimpse through your site (I’ll spend more time this evening!) and you’ve got some great shots there. And I think I’ve got you fooled, it’s not that I know what I’m doing, I’m just experimenting and figuring things out as I go 😉

  13. Erika B says:

    Wow, amazing shots! Great light and color and truly beautiful all of them.

    Erika B

  14. I absolutely love color…and these colors are my favorites! Fabulous shots!

  15. These are fabulous! I’ve also been wanting to try this and now feel inspired to try it myself. I love the colours!

  16. Natalie says:

    Wow. I attempted this today but nothing near as extraordinary as that! I have a macro lens but it’s only macro at 28mm..so i wasn’t as close as I wanted to be. These are really beautiful.

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Natalie! I imagine 28mm would be a bit more challenging to capture compositions like these, but you could always hang multiple drip sources and catch multiple drops at once, that would be interesting as well!

  17. Angel Rogers says:

    Beautiful! I love the liquidity of water and the awesome captures of “the drop”!

  18. SarahinSC says:

    Wow. Simply stunning photos!

  19. Brooke G says:

    WOW! These are so fun 😀 I keep seeing lots of cool droplet pics around blogland. Amazing stuff!

  20. Jim Reed says:

    Thanks Sarah and Brooke, and thanks for stopping by!

  21. Really amazing pictures. Love what you captured so beautifully!

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

