Day 64 – 01/08/11 – Orange

Continuing with the colors theme, today we move on to Orange.  This is one of the images I had planned out and was looking forward to making.  By happy coincidence we received this bowl as a gift today, and it makes the perfect complement to the oranges.

A clementine in a blue bowl.

A clementine in a blue bowl.

I actually shot the image above in the process of making the image I had planned.  To be honest it was just as a test shot while I was setting up the composition for the final shot, but I like it better.  There’s just something about the simplicity of this image that strikes me.

The wife disagrees with me and prefers my originally envisioned image.  I do like this shot as well, so I agreed to post both.  Here it is, you be the judge.

A bowl of clementines, plus one.

A bowl of clementines, plus one.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Day 64 – 01/08/11 – Orange

  1. As a minimalist, I enjoy the first shot the best. They are both excellent examples of composition, however. Playful use of color.

    Enjoyed,
    D

  2. Hmmm, I do like both however, I like the texture/lighting on the oranges in the second shot which wins me over. 😀

  3. Jennifer D says:

    I really like both shots for different reasons. I like the empty space in the first one, but I think the second is my favorite. I like the shine on the oranges and strangly enough I like the lack of empty space with the peeled orange. Great shots.

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Jennifer, and thanks for stopping by! You agree with my wife for the same reasons actually, she doesn’t care for quite so much empty space in the first shot!

  4. bonniegunkel says:

    I like them both also, but the first one looks natural, the second one is too posed for me. Love the contrast of the blue bowl and the fruit. Great shots!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks Bonnie! Where Jennifer agrees with my wife, you and I agree. The second shot does seem just a tad too artificial to me in it’s posing, even though I’m the one that posed it! 😉

  5. mindymilburn says:

    I like the juxtaposition in the second one but I prefer he first. I had a strong reaction to that shot. It is fantastic!

  6. I adore the first shot, I love the simplicity! Beautiful!!

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

