Day 62 – 01/06/11 – Green

When I shot the crayons a few days ago, I had intended to start a theme based on the girls’ craft items.  Then when I shot the dot paints yesterday that idea turned into a new one, a theme based on colors.  I’ve got several ideas bouncing around in my head for this one, and I’m rather excited about them.

The first image, both because it was the first I thought of and the one I had the materials most readily at hand for, is Green.

A green roofed Lincoln Log cabin, under construction.

A green roofed Lincoln Log cabin, under construction.

I enjoyed making this image, both because I captured exactly what I set out after, and because I was able to play around with the off camera flash quite a bit more.  The version I ended up using was shot without the flash – it’s lit by two shop lights, a reflector and a diffuser – but I still had fun experimenting.  I have a lot of studying to do yet (thanks for the book recommendation Terri, I ordered it this afternoon!), but I’m at least making some progress in getting the flash to do what I want.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 62 – 01/06/11 – Green

  1. bonniegunkel says:

    Aww! I used to love Lincoln Logs! It was the only time my brother and I could play peacefully together! This is a great shot!

  2. Jim Reed says:

    Thanks Bonnie! I used to build with my sisters too, though I’m not sure how peacefully 😉

  3. Nicely composed Jim! I already like your theme, colours is a great decision. 😀 I have had an absolute blast with off camera flash, love figuring out what needs to be done, where to place the bounce boards (okay okay, the foam boards), loving it! Hope you enjoy it as much as I have.

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks David! I’m slowly turning my workshop into a studio with foambounce boards ( 😉 ) and impromptu lighting stands everywhere. I agree, it’s a ton of fun. Going to get a bit messy when I need to turn the table saw back on though… 😀

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

