Day 61 – 01/05/11 – Red

I received the wireless triggers for my flash today, and had a brief chance to play with them this evening.  They look to be a lot of fun.  They work beautifully… from a technical standpoint.  From a photographic standpoint I still haven’t a clue what I’m doing.  I’ll be spending some time in the next few days doing some serious research into off camera flash.

For tonight’s image I went to a close cousin of yesterday’s crayolas – the dot paints.  If you haven’t seen these little gems before you’re missing out, they’re wonderful!  The girls love them, they don’t dry out nearly as fast as the paint trays I had when I was a kid, and the cleanup is much easier as well.

I started out just playing around shooting these, I didn’t really have an image in mind.  I set out with no plan, but really like what came together.  I think I may also turn this into a theme, but not the one I’d been thinking of when I started with the crayons.  Stay tuned.

A variety of children's dot paints.

A variety of children's dot paints.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 61 – 01/05/11 – Red

  1. The picture isn’t showing up from Flickr.

    I started playing with Pocket Wizrds a year ago, they are wonderful.

    I’m not sure which system you shoot with, but Syl Arena just published a book on the Canon Speedlight System. It is fabulous. Even if you don’t shoot Canon, I think the book would be an excellent resource.

    • Jim Reed says:

      I just checked and it’s showing up now on two computers here, maybe Flickr blipped? If you still can’t see it please let me know.

      Thanks for the book recommendation, I’ll definitely check it out. I do shoot Canon, so it’ll be doubly beneficial!

  2. Pingback: Day 62 – 01/06/11 – Green | Photos To 40

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

