Day 59 – 01/03/11 – Wheel Kick

At the big one’s insistence, I’m doing some more Taekwondo themed shots.  I decided to kill two birds with one stone and begin experimenting with the new flash as well.  It’s been a long, long time since I used an external flash unit, and that one was about as basic as they came.

Needless to say I’m a bit rusty.  So rusty in fact that I hesitate to post this image.  I’d been relying on the flash to freeze her motion mid-kick, and was less than completely successful.  Rather than reshoot, I’m going to post it anyway because:

  • I don’t have time to reshoot this evening
  • This project is in part about expanding my skills, so not every shot is going to be perfect
  • While the picture isn’t as sharp as I’d like, the moment is exactly what I wanted to capture

So here’s the big one’s wheel kick, a split second before impact.  I’ll keep experimenting, and will revisit this shot in the future.

The big one practices her wheel kick.

The big one practices her wheel kick.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 59 – 01/03/11 – Wheel Kick

  1. Good for you on posting the photo even though it’s not quite what you imagined! Personally, I like it…it shows motion!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks David! I like the motion in her foot and hands too, I anticipated that. I’m just not happy that her face is less than sharp. I was hoping the flash would freeze her face as she spun. Either it didn’t, or my depth of field was too narrow and she spun out of it. It’s good to have things to work on though, right? 😉

  2. mindymilburn says:

    Love this! Great action shot!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks! I’m going to play around with some more of these as I get the lighting down. The big one has some more ideas of her own she’d like me to shoot in this theme, so stay tuned!

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

