Day 54 – 12/29/10 – Corded

Today’s shot is likely the last in the Tools theme, at least for awhile. It’s also not a macro shot, though it was taken with the new macro lens.  I’m going to make an effort not to overdo the macros in the coming days, but I can’t guarantee it.  The darn lens is just so much fun to play with! 😉

One of the most overlooked tools in the modern workshop isn’t technically a tool at all, but without it the workshop would be eerily quiet. I’d been planning on making an image of the lowly extension cord to close this theme out for some time, but I had an entirely different setup in mind.  Then I saw today’s image Chains by David Williams.  It inspired me to change my planned shot to the one below, which I consider to be a much stronger composition.  Thanks David!

The most overlooked tool in the modern workshop.

The most overlooked tool in the modern workshop.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 54 – 12/29/10 – Corded

  1. I like this, I don’t think I would have thought about taking a shot of an extension cord, nicely done! The composition of the plug is great, just in the right spot if you ask me! Great DoF as well.

    Thank you for the “plug” (hahaha, I crack myself up sometimes), I actually had a good time figuring out the Chain shot. 😀

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks! The extension cord hangs pretty centrally in my workshop and is rather bright orange. I’ve been visually tripping over it every day as I look over the other tools for an image. I’d originally planned to shoot it plugged into one of the power tools, but I like this setup a lot better!

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

