Day 50 – 12/25/10 – Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas everybody!  We just finished up Christmas with the immediate family, and are heading out to my sister’s place to visit their family for a bit as well.  So it’s a quick shot today.

Luckily I have absolutely no shortage of subject matters.  I was apparently nice this year, as Mrs. Santa brought me a new Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro lens!  After finishing the Happy Dance I immediately started shooting macro images of everything that couldn’t get out of the way of the lens fast enough (as it turns out the dog was fast enough to get away ;))

Expect many, many more macros in the days to come.  But for now here’s my two favorites from this morning.  Both are images I’ve wanted to make for awhile but been unable to get quite right with my current lenses.

Water droplets on a poinsettia leaf.

Water droplets on a poinsettia leaf.

Reflections in a Christmas tree ornament.

Reflections in a Christmas tree ornament.

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Day 50 – 12/25/10 – Merry Christmas!

  1. Oh my goodness! You’re so lucky! I can’t wait to see all your macro shots! These are fabulous! Merry Christmas!

  2. Jim Reed says:

    Thanks guys! I’m having a blast playing with the macro, and I got an external flash as well. Once I brush up on how to use that, I’ll have even more experimenting to do!

  3. lisahudson says:

    I’m doing the happy dance with you. I got an 85mm macro for my birthday this year. Love it. Love it. And, did I mention I LOVE IT??? See the world in a whole new way. Looking forward to your experiments. 🙂 Merry Christmas!!

  4. Woot for us, I also got the Canon 100mm 2.8 IS!

    I really like the water drops! Can’t wait to see more macros!

    Happy belated Christmas to you and your family, hope all had a wonderful time! 😀

  5. Sheri says:

    The water droplets are wonderful!

  6. Deb says:

    These are both fabulous shots! I’m inspired to get out my macro lens!

  7. Jill says:

    Enjoy your new lens! That is my next one to add to my bag 🙂

    Love the first shot – gorgeous!
    Happy New Year!
    Jill
    http://fnaphotography.blogspot.com

  8. Jim Reed says:

    Thanks guys, and thanks for stopping by!

  9. Tara says:

    Gorgeous, So jealous of the new lens! Yay for new gear!

  10. I especially like the first shot. I am a sucker for water droplets on flowers. Thanks for sharing!

  11. ndjmom says:

    I love Macros! They are amazing, although my camera has a macro function it’s just not the same as a real lens. Can’t wait to see more.

    • Jim Reed says:

      I hope you don’t become bored with the macro shots over the next few weeks. I’m having so much fun with it I’m going to have to force myself not to overdo it!

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

