Day 40 – 12/15/10 – Gerber

It’s getting to be a busy time at the office, not to mention busy in general with the holidays and the Mrs. recovering from surgery.  That’s likely to mean many ‘quick shots’ in the coming days – like the one today.

Here’s one of the flowers from a get-well bouquet the wife received yesterday.  I’m told it’s a Gerber Daisy, though I wouldn’t know one flower from another if they walked up and bit me…

Gerber Daisy in Bouquet

Gerber Daisy in Bouquet

Here’s another, closer shot of the same flower.  While I enjoy these close shots, I’m really starting to see the limitations of a regular lens vs. a macro lens for such up close work.  For instance, if you look really closely in this shot, you’ll see a little bug in the center of the flower.  I couldn’t get any closer to him than this and still focus.  I bet I could have gotten a much nicer shot of it with a macro lens.

Gerber Daisy

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 40 – 12/15/10 – Gerber

  1. Dawn says:

    I see you’re on day 40, I just started on my project and took day 15 today. I think indeed it’s a Ferber daisy and I hope your wife gets better soon

    • Jim Reed says:

      Thanks! And thanks for stopping by! I’ve just checked out your blog quickly and subscribed, you’ve got some nice shots there! I’ll be sure to take a closer look when I have a moment. Good luck on the project, stick with it, it can get tedious at times, but is still a lot of fun.

  2. Beautiful shot Jim! I love Gerbers! 🙂

  3. I’ve been dying to get a macro lens too! It looks like you’re doing a great job with what you have though. 🙂

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

