Day 31 – 12/06/10 – The Crawl

When I was younger my mother was fond of saying there’s no such thing as a bad day, just bad ten minutes.

She was wrong.

Or, I suppose, if she was correct, then today was a whole series of bad ten minutes.  A snowstorm which ought not have been as big a deal as it was turned my 45 minute commute into a two hour ordeal.  My mailbox was knocked off (for the third time in six years) by a city snowplow driven – I can only imagine – by Mr. Magoo.  And upon finally arriving at the office, one of my key employees greeted me with his two weeks’ notice.  Good for him (it’s a move in the direction he wanted to go) – not so good for me.

But enough belly aching.  I did manage to get some interesting shots on the drive.    Don’t worry, it wasn’t as dangerous as it sounds, after all I was only going about two miles an hour!

An unpleasant morning commute through a snowstorm

Crawling through an unpleasant morning commute

And for the third day in a row, there’s a bonus shot.  This guy just seemed to have a death wish.  While the storm really wasn’t as bad as it looked, I don’t think tail gating a semi that closely is a good idea in any conditions, let alone with low visibility on somewhat slippery roads!

Not exactly the safest place to be driving!

Not exactly the safest place to be driving!

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 31 – 12/06/10 – The Crawl

  1. Oh wow, what a…maroooon! You sure do have a lot of snow there, you should send some up to the Pacific Northwest as I know I would love it! Sorry to hear about your employee, sounds like he’s making a go at a dream which is always a good thing.

  2. Jim Reed says:

    We’re actually getting hit with snow again today, and are expected to see some off and on the rest of the week. Send me your mailing address, I’ll ship you a huge box full!

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

