Day 30 – 12/05/10 – Closed for the Season

So this marks the 30th image.  One month of the Photos to 40 project down, eleven to go.  It’s been interesting to say the least.  I’ve learned a lot already, and had fun doing it.  I’m looking forward to the next eleven months.

As you can see from today’s shot, it’s a good day to be inside.  Inside the house that is, not the kids’ playset, which seems to be closed for the season.

The kids playset - in the midst of a snowstorm - appears to be closed for the season.

The kids playset closed for the season by a snowstorm.

The weather actually worked out well, as we spent the day decorating the Christmas tree.  I know it’s the second day in a row with two images, but I figured I’d take this opportunity to get the traditional bokeh shot out of the way as well 😉

Santa ornament against a backdrop bokeh of Christmas tree lights

Santa and the traditional Christmas tree light bokeh

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 30 – 12/05/10 – Closed for the Season

  1. Look at all that snow, I am so jealous! Okay, here’s my creative comment on this photo. Personally, I would crop out that tree on the right side, it’s the ONLY thing that distracts me. I love the snow flakes in motion, love the piled up snow on the play set, great job!

    Nice bokeh shot, I actually took one today!

    • Jim Reed says:

      Give us about a month and you can have the snow, we’ll be plenty tired of it by then! I see what you mean on that right side tree. I actually debated cropping it out, but left it in to frame the right side of the image. I can see it working the other way too though.

  2. The snow storm one is great! I love the sideways snow. Santa is a little dark, but great! The lights are amazing! But, what is a bokeh?

  3. Jim Reed says:

    The snow storm wasn’t so great this morning, schools closed and it took me two hours to make my normal 45 minute commute!

    Bokeh is an intentionally out of focus or blurred area of an image. In this case the out of focus tree lights behind the ornament making them look like colored spots instead of lights.

  4. Pingback: Day 57: A Project365 Love Story | Whitney T. Photography

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

